Tip of the Week: Setting your timeout duration | TimeSolv
clock-blog-post

Tip of the Week: Setting your timeout duration

Our Tip of the Week lately has been focused on small, little things within TimeSolv that can really make a difference in your efficiency. Today is no exception. Let’s look at setting the amount of time before you will be automatically logged out of TimeSolv if you haven’t been using the software.

By default, if you are logged into TimeSolv but have done nothing in the program for a half hour, your session will end and you’ll be logged out. However, we know some people would like to customize for their business just how long the software has to be open before ending a session.

We all know some employees may have TimeSolv open and then forget about it as they move on to another task or even leave their office, which brings up security issues. So some firms may want to end sessions after only 10 or 15 minutes.

Conversely, some firms feel restricted in having the session end after only 30 minutes, perhaps they like to keep TimeSolv open in a browser window all day for easy access and don’t want the hassle of having to log back in every 30 minutes.

Our Session Timeout Duration setting can accommodate both kinds of businesses.

To change the timeout duration head to the settings link under the Account tab. In the middle of the General tab you’ll see a field labeled Session Timeout Duration (hours) with the field populated with .5 hours, signifying the default time of 30 minutes. Please note that this field is recorded in hours, so if you’d like to have the duration changed to 15 minutes, you’d enter .25 and so on.

If you haven’t explored the settings area of your account, you’ll notice many fields that can be customized to suit your business needs. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with questions or if you don’t see something you’d like to customize, let us know too. We’re always looking to improve our product!